Brooksie Cox Interview

brookeHow long have you been writing?  I’ve been writing as long as I can remember.  When I was a small child, I would make up stories and ask family members to write them down before I learned how to write.

What inspired you to write in the first place?  I think I was born with a desire to write, but my first inspiration was Snoopy.  As a child I loved his adventures on his Sopwith Camel.  And I loved how he would sit at his typewriter and create stories. I wanted to do that!  After I became a Christian, I realized God had given me this desire to serve Him.  That’s what I try to do now with a dash of adventure.

Where do you get your ideas from?  Everywhere.  I keep my eyes, my ears, and my mind open all the time to anything that strikes “my fancy.”  If something gets my attention, then I’m interested. Even when an old memory is jogged, I can get an idea. I try to write them down so I don’t forget them.

What is your ultimate writing dream?  I think every writer wants to be published and have at least one book with their name on it.  But, I want to make a difference in somebody’s life for God and not just entertain him or her for a while.

Who is your best supporter? That’s a toughie.  My first supporters were and still are my husband and daughter.  And I have some awesome and dear friends who cheer me on as well.  I don’t know what I would do without any of them.

What book have you most recently published? “Sheriff’s Bride Jo’s Story” and “Christmas Village Miracles,” which is an anthology.

What book are you working on? I have two I’m working on.  One is a mystery adventure based on some of my family history.  The other is my first try at a romance novella with a little twist.  I don’t like to be like everybody else.

Out of all the books you have written, which was your favorite and why?  “Dinosaur Eggs.”  It’s a Christian fantasy about a 13 year old boy who comes face to face with a T-Rex.  It’s my favorite since I can still serve God while letting my imagination run loose.  Talk about fun!
Have you had any great experiences promoting your books?  Positive Feedback. And it awesome to relate your story to somebody else.  To have them want to come along for the ride.

What can you recommend to other writers?  First, hone your craft.  Second, join an organization such as the ACFW.  The ACFW has free courses you can participate in that can help you in all the different areas of writing and publishing.  And of course, PRAY.  Don’t ever stop praying.

Leave a Reply

