Interview With Joi Copeland Author of Christmas Rayne

joi copeland
How long have you been writing?
I’ve been writing officially 3 1/2 years.  But my passion for writing began when I was in 4th grade.What inspired you to write in the first place?
My husband and I moved our family to Colorado from California. My sister and her family lived in CO, too, and invited us to live with them until my husband found a job. One day, my sister, my brother-in-law, and my hubby told me I had needed to write my first novel. And so, a few days later, I went to bed and woke up the next morning with my first novel in my head!

Where do you get your ideas from?
I get my ideas from people, real life situations, or just ideas floating around in my brain.

What is your ultimate writing dream?
To draw others into a deeper relationship with Christ. I want to point the way to the cross. My desire is to encourage others to seek the Lord in all areas of their lives.Who is your best supporter?
My husband, Chris.

What book have you most recently published?
My two novellas, Christmas Rayne and Sheriff’s Bride at Lovely Christian Romalnce.

What book are you working on?
I am currently working on a story about my grandparents. He was stationed in China during WWII, and I now have the letters he wrote to her. Of course, the letters are authentic, but many things in the story are purely fiction.

Out of all the books you have written, which was your favorite and why?
That’s a tough one. I really enjoyed Christmas Rayne. It was really the first story that came solely from my head, with no outside influences at all. The moment I began this one, I knew where it was going to go and why. My favorite book, though, would be my last one in my Hope series, which is currently at my publisher’s, Hope from the Past.

Have you had any great experiences promoting your books?
Many! I’ve enjoyed being a guest on many blogs and getting to know readers who I never would’ve met. Because of that, I’ve had the opportunity to become friends with some neat women.

What can you recommend to other writers?
Get in a critique group. I’m so grateful for my critique partners! They’ve challenged me, encouraged me, and have made me step out of the box. Listen to criticism and pray about it.

Here’s an example: I really wanted my grandparents’ story to go in a certain direction. I gave my critique group a few chapters. One gal really challenged me to change the story. I struggled and was discouraged. But after praying about it, I knew she was right. Now, the story is pretty much writing itself, and I truly think it’ll be amazing!
Thanks for having me! 🙂
Leave a Reply

